Poets logo

Deceit

Self-deceit is also deceit?

By a*k² (a times k-squared)Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I take a pause, I ponder.

How will I know if

I’m deceiving myself?

*******

With all of our senses focused outward, the general tendency is to look outside. To look at other people’s actions and judge them based on our views of the world.

And yet how much time and focused energy am I dedicating to how I show up in the world? Are my belief systems up to date? Are they allowing me to function effectively in the world?

In what areas am I deluding myself? How do I catch them? And once I do find them, do I run away or stay and solve for? Do I have the courage to face up to my own shadows? And if I don’t, how do I go about building it? Do I even want to face my own shadows? What are my perceived costs and benefits from going about this activity?

Am I taking responsibility for my contribution to any mess I find myself in? Or does just blaming the others suffice for me? If yes, am I ok to continue to stay in the mess because I refuse to do anything about it?

It’s interesting how when I sincerely answer the difficult questions, I can always find a way out. Or find an explanation that is sufficient enough for me to handle the status quo with grace and dignity while on my way to getting to where I want to be.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

a*k² (a times k-squared)

Thinker | Feeler | Writer

My mission is to spark self-empowerment journeys through self-discovery

How? Instrospection

Goal: Explore | Experiment | Learn | Share | Grow

My book Masks & Layers: amzn.to/3qivjXQ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.