Poets logo

Deathbed Pillow Talk

Comfort lives in the between-world

By Catherine KenwellPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
13
Author Photo

Others tell me

you’re a ghost, an apparition, unreal

That I shouldn’t call your name

or inhale the memory of your fragrance

But oh, how I cherish the sound of your laugh

and the comfort I feel in your presence

Will it always be like this? Please

tell me yes, because I never want to miss a moment

of our between-worlds, our after-words,

our deathbed pillow talk

(Oh yes, how divine, I remember)

What spell have you concocted,

to delight me when I should feel so forlorn?

How do you soothe my heart,

how do you embrace and comfort me

if you’re unreal?

Oh, be you a ghost, an apparition, unreal

I will call your name and inhale the memory of your fragrance

as you are here with me, and I with you, in

our between-worlds pillow talk.

love poems
13

About the Creator

Catherine Kenwell

I live with a broken brain and PTSD--but that doesn't stop me! I'm an author, artist, and qualified mediator who loves life's detours.

I co-authored NOT CANCELLED: Canadian Kindness in the Face of COVID-19. I also publish horror stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Whoa, this was so deep. Very beautifully written and packed with emotions. I loved it!

  • Colt Henderson2 years ago

    I found this poem leaving me wanting. I wish I had that experience with someone, but people call me heartless. I still loved the imagery!

  • wow, such depth and emotion

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Spectacular, lovely comforting poem! 👏💖😊💕

  • Lovely sentiments.

  • Gerald Holmes2 years ago

    So beautiful. It touch's the heart.

  • Novel Allen2 years ago

    Be well Catherine. well said.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is beautiful. Well done.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    That was beautiful, great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.