Poets logo

Death of the Author.

I don't want to be remembered.

By Lucy RichardsonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Death of the Author.
Photo by Wolfgang Hasselmann on Unsplash

Everybody wants to be remembered for something.

Something they were, a mother, father, daughter, or so forth.

Something they gained, their money, accolades, their record.

Something they did, good, bad, ugly, or whatever the hell else.

Me? I don't want no part in that.

I don't want people taking advantage of me after I'm six feet under.

Fingering their way through my collected works,

Combing through every tiny anecdote,

Speculating on why I did what I did,

Wondering Why I didn't do what I should have done.

Or worse, coming up with a character better than me.

Prettier than me, smarter, kinder, freer than me.

No, I just want to slip through the annals of history.

I want my page to fall out and wind up in the gutter.

Let every story I've written whisper its way authorless through time.

I want my skin and bones to decay in an unmarked grave.

For people to only ever feel a shade of what I once was.

Truthfully, that's the only way I can live.

As a passerby, a wanderer in the desert.

Someone you'll not quite remember in years to come,

Whose name will slip from your mind,

And whose presence at broken-down diners,

Inner-city alleyways,

Forgotten highways,

And lost bedrooms,

Comes and goes at will.

Leaving behind only the faintest taste of melancholy and a hint of drugs,

There's enough people who've enshrined their names into history.

With their art, their antics, or their ambitions.

I don't want no part in that.

So kiss me before I go, and I'll be free of the burden.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Lucy Richardson

I'm a new writer who enjoys fiction writing, personal narratives, and occasionally political deep dives. Help support my work and remember, you can't be neutral on a moving train.

https://twitter.com/penname_42

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.