Poets logo

Death

What you've done to me

By Gabrielle MariePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Death
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Most nights you're in my dreams.

I am restless & wake reaching for the space beside my where you used to lay.

It feels like yesterday when I wrote the words,

"I lay my head on your chest. Listening to the soft, steady beat of your heart. Not wanting the day to come where I no longer hear it."

Those words I wrote were for the end.

The end I thought would be death, but there is still more life to live, just not together.

I am grieving

Cycling through the stages of grief; never reaching acceptance.

I wait for you;

To call,

To come home,

To say it was all a big mistake and we can pick up where we left off.

But I am dreaming.

You are no longer my home.

I am alone.

This death is mine to bear.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Gabrielle Marie

My life is much like the Titanic; full of promise, wonder, and awe- but slowing sinking into a cold sea. This is my history.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.