Poets logo

Dear Reader:

a commentary on human nature

By Elle BrooksPublished about a year ago • 1 min read
3
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Dear Reader:

For the moment you are trapped in these pages

unable to pull your eyes away

caught in the images I created in your mind

lulled in with a sense of yourself in these pages

flipping through with a sense of urgency, insistence

you compare me to a god of these pages –

No, I am but a mortal.

gods only exist in books, but not mine

I empathize more with the devil-

kicked out of his own home

only to find solace in the worst of human behavior

limbo, lust, gluttony, greed, anger, heresy, violence, fraud, treachery-

these are images you cannot outrun

no matter how fast you turn the pages.

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Elle Brooks

In another life I was a ghoul that haunted an old Victorian mansion. Here, I am but an reader learning to write :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Matthew Danielsabout a year ago

    Some Dante vibes. I'm into it. Looking forward to seeing what you do next!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.