Poets logo

Dear Patron.

One's never enough.

By Madison BauerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Dear Patron,

With every sip bitter, springs a new trigger,

Memories play another, “I miss you” trailor.

My own internal motion picture.

1 Tequila, 2 tequila, 3 tequila, 4.

Keep ‘em coming, I'm already too low to hit the floor.

Please keep ‘em coming, not enough self rancor.

Didn’t want to come, didn’t want to drink.

Why won’t I stay home. I can’t seem to win.

Whether out or in. Whether here or there,

Not enough spirits to quiet my soul.

To much pain to bear.

Will I ever say no?

Will there ever be enough, I must keep filling my cup.

Madison, wake up.

Yet when I do, our love story reels continue.

Our memories I relive, good and evil.

A sober mind comes with seeing eyes.

A sober mind begets a bleeding heart.

To heal, I must feel.

To heal I have to put the glass down.

I’m sick. I’m tired. I'm in pieces.

My nightly companion, a throne of porcelain.

Asleep on cold tile, leaning over dry heaving,

I can taste last nights dinner.

Mascara running down my face, yesterday's make-up still caked.

I’m ready to reckon. I want something new. I believe there's something deeper.

The street signs to hell are familiar.

Lord guide me. Fill my cup, lift my head.

I’m ready to sleep in my own bed.

Love,

Sobriety

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.