Poets logo

Dear Miss X

All I Could Give

By Antonio SanchezPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Dear Miss X,

I gave you all that I could. The sun, moon and entire earth was yours for the taking. Handing you my taped and glued heart was harder than splitting damp wood. Now it is returned in a million pieces, constantly aching.

The puzzle that was once my soul is falling into the abyss. The past comes to me in waves, crashing like titans toppling Olympus. Everyday is an endless roller-coaster with a breakdown on the cusp. Sleepless nights, filled with memories of every kiss.

Catatonic stares toward every star that I have ever made a wish on. Every prayer begging an answer to "is she the one?". Fighting to prove that even the bad times made our love worth it, like an injured but gorgeous swan. I was ready for the rest of our lives, but you told me you were done

Now I sink into the deepest trenches with nothing left. Losing myself, and the future we planned. Homestead, white picket fence, dogs, and children all turn to ashes like a time-theft. No matter how much I try to forget what we had, my shattered heart tries to hold on, the same way I used to hold your hand.

The face in the mirror is no longer mine, as a hollow shell is now where my body once existed. Everything hurts more now, letting me know I am still barely breathing. I remember the things you loved, hated, and disliked numbered and listed. I forgot to write a list on things to do to start healing.

I was your forevermore, your soulmate, the love of your life. But you could not accept yourself the way I did. I patiently wait to see if you remember what we had, or if you cut it all off with a knife. Is the end, really the end or are the feelings and emotions tightly locked and hid? Is this really how love dies?

Yours Truly,

Mr. Nobody

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Antonio Sanchez

Hello there, I am an aspiring writer and artist that has been creating ideas since I was very young. I would like to use this platform to share these ideas on a much larger scale.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.