Poets logo

Dear Mania

poem/song for those suffering from bipolar disorder

By CD TurnerPublished about a month ago Updated 25 days ago 1 min read
3

I wish this upon no one...

I feel like I'm fucking undone...

My brain feels like it's made of glue, worms, and cotton...

My heart feels like it's made of glass shards and chewed gum.

/

Some days are marigold,

Some days are black holes.

I don't remember the last time that I laughed,

It feels like a million years ago.

/

Dear Mania,

I hope this song doesn't find you well.

I'm at the bottom of the box that you keep on the shelf.

Dear Mania,

Is this a good day or just another delusion?

Are these thoughts my thinking or just your intrusion?

/

I feel like flying...

I feel like crying...

I feel like fucking...

I feel like dying...

/

Where the hell am I goin'?

I feel so goddamn broken.

Don't know if I'm pretendin'

My sanity's been stolen.

/

Dear Mania,

It's just the bitch you keep tryin' to kill,

You're still fucking here even after I took the pill.

Dear Mania,

This doesn't feel like sunshine and oceans,

I'm a bubblegum machine full of too many damn emotions.

/

I feel like flying...

I feel like crying...

I feel like fucking...

I feel like dying...

/

I feel like nothing...

I don't feel anything...

I feel like nothing...

I am nothing...

/

Dear Mania,

Will I ever be some kind of happy?

Will you ever let me have any kind of peace?

Dear Mania,

You are a part of me, not all of me...

I am not you, I am not my disease.

I am not you, I am not my disease.

Song Lyricssad poetryMental Health
3

About the Creator

CD Turner

I write stories and articles. Sometimes they're good.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a month ago

    Thank you for sharing a poem from this POV. Very good writing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.