Poets logo

Dear Love of my Life

A Letter of Heartbreak

By Adrianne KirkseyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
1
Dear Love of my Life
Photo by John Jennings on Unsplash

Dear love of my life,

It has been many moons,

since I walked away. -

Yet,

you would never know,

I think of you each day. -

I love you more,

than you know.

But,

I'm not sorry,

for letting you go. -

You see,

loving you,

was never easy.

In fact,

It was very hard. -

The love you showed,

was not love at all,

In fact,

It left me scarred. -

I got tired of broken promises.

Got tired of being led astray. -

Got tired of the lies,

I couldn't stay, -

another day. -

I gave my whole life to you.

Even when it was very tough. -

But,

no matter what I did,

It was never good enough.

I saw your potential.

You saw my flaws. -

I wish,

I never,

met you at all. -

Didn't realize how important life could be,

All I cared about,

was you loving me.

What you showed me was love,

was not love at all.

You broke my spirit daily,

and made me feel so small. -

You made it clear so many times,

that I meant nothing you. -

I did a lot of things to prove my love.

But,

I was just a fool. -

The way you treated me,

should have been a crime, -

You played with my heart,

You played with my time. -

No memories recorded.

You played with my mind. -

You hated me so much,

Wouldn't take a picture with me. -

And I actually thought if I stayed down,

you'd marry me. -

And now I'm glad it didn't happen.

You were horrible to me. -

So,

I got tired of holding you hostage,

My love,

I set you free! -

You said I could not cook,

yet you ate at every meal. -

Manipulated my feelings.

Saying my dreams,

we're not real. -

Kept your hand in my pocket,

all the drama,

made me sad. -

The plan was never to love me,

just to take me, for all I had. -

Crazy part,

I'm not even mad. -

I will always love you,

more than you will ever know. -

Got tired of not being loved.

My love,

I had to go. -

Sincerely,

Adrianne Danielle

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Adrianne Kirksey

"TURN YOUR PAIN INTO PAPER"

I am just a young grandmother with an old soul.

My goal is to create generational wealth for my family by doing something I love!

Victor's Daughter- AK

"The Writer of all Wrongs"

Please Like, Share, or Subscribe!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.