Poets logo

Dear Little One

with love, your mom, in-progress.

By Samantha KaszasPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
by author.

Dear Little One,

.

Your rumbles rock

in my tummy

like underwater eruptions,

or waves, gently rolling.

Your way of calling

each day.

.

With a soothing caress

I call my response,

hand hovering over

a burgeoning belly.

Your eager hello bumps upon

the soft of my palm.

.

My reality humbled by

your arrival. The body I’ve known

becoming a home,

my purpose now

more than a singular

being.

.

With each day you grow

like a seed in my garden,

your progress oft counted

in produce. Last week,

you weighed-in at a beet, today,

well on your way to a cabbage.

.

Nearly ripe,

for arrival,

my dear.

.

Some days my breath slows,

the weight of my womb

hauls me down like a new

type of gravity

that seems to recentre me, and

leaves me wondering, how?

.

How can I hold you, as you go

from a seed, to a beet,

to a towering tree?

Then, your fierce fists pound

and I remember.

I remember this body.

.

This body was made, to grow.

.

With love,

Your Mom,

In-Progress

childrens poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

Samantha Kaszas

Experienced Storyteller. Amateur Writer.

Here to tell stories and sharpen my craft.

Thank you for stopping by.

@Samanthacarlyk

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.