Poets logo

Dear Little one

You deserved better

By Lauren DeePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Dear Little one
Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

Dear Little one,

I don't even know where to begin.

I know you can't remember anything,

but that's probably for the best.

The pain and abuse should have been stopped,

The first time someone laid unwanted hands.

I wish someone would have helped you,

You couldn't have helped yourself.

The pain you suffered was not normal.

The dreams that haunt you,

Still haunt me.

The feeling of drowning in pain and confusion

only got worse over time.

I wish I could have had the courage to say something.

Made the hurt stop.

But I was scared and with what happened,

I just wanted it to be over.

Don't get too sad though,

The pain subsides as more abuse happened.

But you're doing ok.

You are finally finding yourself.

Just keep the smile on your face.

Some memories aren't meant to be remembered.

Thinking of you always,

The future you.

heartbreaksad poetry
1

About the Creator

Lauren Dee

I have had very disturbing dreams my whole life. I write fictional short stories, rants and poems all based off of my experiences in life. They can be dark, but it's the only way I can get them out of my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Beautiful ❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.