Poets logo

Dear Journal

This journal belongs to.........

By NoturMami Published 12 months ago 2 min read
Like
Dear Journal
Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

I still remember when we first met. I was seven years old , and it was Christmas time. My mother, brother and I had just moved into a new shelter. You where my gift. You where small, and green, and there was a laminated decoration of roses all over the front and back. You looked like a door. You had a silver lock on the right side of you and it dangled off the side. I had two tiny keys to open you up. You where my secret. My mother couldnt even get in. I opened you up to the first page, and it said This Journal Belongs to .....You had a line for me to write my name. You belonged to me. Dear Journal, where my first words to you, but to me it was more than an introduction, it was a weight off my chest that I had been carrying for too long. It was the first place I felt like I could really unpack my stuff. You where my home when I didnt feel at home at home. You had questions in the back of you. Like whats my favorite color? and who is my best friend? You even had a space for me to put my friends names and their interests. I would tell you about how my mum just doesnt get it. I would tell you about my first crush at summer camp. I would tell you about the day my friend chose a new friend because she was cooler than me. Eventually the lock hinge loosened and it didnt matter if I locked the little silver lock. I got new journals, bigger ones, without locks, and with more pages. Journals that didnt ask who it belongs to. Journals that didnt ask about my favorite color, or my hobbies. I had leather bound journals, and journals with tassles. They got to know me too. I told them about my dreams and goals, and what makes me cry. I told them sometimes I'm not sure if I want to live. I made excuses for men that didnt love me. I wrote prayers. I wrote complaints. You where always there, no matter the form. Whenever I open my journal I become that seven year old girl , full of secrets, leaning against the shelter wall, giddy with joy, opening her new journal, her new safe space, her new home.

book reviewsvintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guideart
Like

About the Creator

NoturMami

people think im texting on my phone but im usually writing something in my notes. a food recipe. a poem. a thought about society. a love sick song that i never finish.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.