Poets logo

Dear John

A letter to the devil inside

By AnaRosa CruzPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4

Dear John,

or Joe, or Paula...

I don't even know your name, all I know from you is that sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach. My hands ache from trying to dig you out, my heart is raw and throbbing.

And you elude my grasp, for years, you have evaded.

Well, guess what John? (or Andy, or Nikki)

I'm finally moving on. I am finally letting you go, and walking away. How, you may wonder, can one walk away from a seed of hate planted inside so long ago? I guess you could call it magic, a miracle, fate. I call it HER.

HER with her big brown eyes, and beautiful laugh, HER with her need for strength, and love, and support. HER need to see that devils don't win. HER is all that matters now.

I'll miss you, John, (or Manny, or Carol) in those quiet hours of longing, when I remember the safety you once provided. When I am scared to try something new, or talk to that stranger, or take a flying leap into the unknown. I'll miss your cool, snake-like grip, holding me close. I'll miss your suffocating arms, cradling my fears like a bird you can't wait to devour.

But, my dear John, (or Jacob, or Jennifer) I have decided to live. I'm leaving you, John (or Emily, or Sarah) I am leaving you for HER, and for life, and for hope.

love poems
4

About the Creator

AnaRosa Cruz

creative writer, martial artist, obfuscation, goblin, rock hound. New to poetry, but having fun just letting my brain spill onto the page.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Stevi-Lee Alverabout a year ago

    Hell yes. I loved this poem. Sorry, John. You gotta go!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.