Poets logo

Dear Gracie, ✍️

An Epistolary Letter to a Friend

By Grz ColmPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - April 2023
70
Dear Gracie, ✍️
Photo by Drew Farwell on Unsplash

Please note: some brief language and mental health themes

11th of January, 2019 -

Dear Gracie,

I just wanted to thank you my friend.

My doors were so closely guarded, padlocked then,

I didn’t know how to make my way through to the other side.

I’d often thought,

Maybe if they just called on me, you know?

Asked me out? I don’t know..

What I think I really needed back then was for someone just to sit with me,

to let me into their life wholeheartedly -

until I was ready to share and open up.

The last 16 months had been a nightmare,

That had come to fire-breathing life!

I didn’t know why I, as a once ‘rational’ human being -

could suddenly be so highly irrational & fearful,

that I could not just think my way out of this mind-prison.

I could barely be left alone at times,

becoming highly distressed at the drop of a hat,

often like a feeling of a thermostat reaching boiling point,

about to explode right out the top of my head!

My feelings were frequently detached,

as if I was sleepwalking when in public,

when driving and out at the shops,

Like a ghost endeavouring to find a body to inhabit,

as I was out of time and place with my very own..

Now, in retrospect, this experience of derealisation,

and depersonalisation (which I did not know the names of prior)

was perhaps heightened by the dreaded anti-psychotic medication

(given for pervasive anxiety)

that places you in a ‘lull’ state.

Perhaps this was a part of the grieving process of my old identity?

in order to make way for the new..

(or rather to return to my ‘default settings’?).

All this made for a kind of temporal displacement back then,

much like when Marty McFly’s photograph of himself (or is it his father?)

begins fading away in “Back to the Future” -

Once the wheels are in motion, it’s TIME that will have the final say!

Time after all was an enemy this last year and half,

every minute and hour passing taunted me -

The news updates from the radio by the hour,

felt like they were shouting at ME, mockingly -

“See! - they would say, SEE how you've stuffed up your life!”

“Let me me show you how you are continuing to do so.”

“Now let’s imagine what a ‘normal life’ would look like,

instead of the shit-show existence from the pits of hades you’re now living.”

“Think of all the disparities between your life currently

and the one you wish to lead..”

“You simpleton fuck-wit! Look and see how you’ve isolated everyone,

and everything from your life, least of all from yourself!”

And maybe I did push people away, but I didn’t mean to.

The problem was, I think my friendship group only knew one side to me,

maybe a version that now no longer completely exists -

and that was again shameful & a source of anxiety in itself,

If I was embarrassed to be around me, how must they feel?

But, then you effortlessly reached out to me Gracie!

You seemed to have this unassuming manner of just accepting,

without having to talk about anything I didn’t want to,

which was kind of comforting at the time.

Sometimes I was still a bit of a ‘space-cadet’,

as if I was in some kind of dream,

Yet, I remember we’d organise going to superhero movies,

and Supernova at the Showgrounds,

then post-hospital going boogie-boarding at Aldinga Beach,

then to see the third “Maze Runner” movie with your kids,

even though you’d never even seen part 2!

Remember that bush-walk at Morialta Falls?

If my body wasn’t emaciated already by this challenging point in my life,

It was by the end of that hike! - you gal, can walk!

The bull-shit in my head was slowly starting to dissipate,

Things weren't ideal, yet these social activities were

definite boosters to my confidence and health,

which you silently understood.

I know everyone else had their lives now,

and I had to accept that,

but I thank you Gracie and will be eternally grateful

for including me in yours.

Sincerely,

Andy

*Thanks for reading. Please consider hitting the heart or subscribing for more free verse poems and film reviews from me. Many Thanks. 😊

Here’s one of my recent pieces for the tautogram challenge:

inspirational
70

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, 🎞 as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (34)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Beautiful work Grz!!! BRAVO! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • J. R. Lowe11 months ago

    I came here after seeing your comment on my story (“pls never reply”) so I could ‘reply’ without replying, and duuude this is good. So painfully raw, but also a beautiful tribute to Gracie. Well done 👏

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    Derealisation and Depersonalisation. I understand in my own way with my complex mental illness. A very insightful piece. I see below reference to a Top Story. Indeed most worthy Pauline 🌸

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Well done. 👏🏼

  • This was such a great vacation bid honest poem well done

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    I admire your bravery and honesty. Well deserved top story! Thank you for sharing a glimpse into your healing journey. 💖 Gracie sounds like an amazing friend.

  • Fatima Khan12 months ago

    https://vocal.media/poets/a-night-with-nature

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    I loved this line, "Like a ghost endeavouring to find a body to inhabit," 😁 Really jumped out at me as poignant and impactful. And then I thought, if my friends only know one side of me... and that side no longer exists... am I a ghost after all? So personal, and sharing so much of yourself, and yet at the same time so revealing for us as well.

  • Jazmin Fernandez12 months ago

    That’s amazing work, well done. Congrats on your TS 🕊️

  • Dylan 12 months ago

    This was beautiful! Congrats on top story!

  • Chisi limi12 months ago

    damn bro it was good

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!! 😍😍😍

  • Deanna Fratus12 months ago

    Nice, I can relate somewhat. Having a freind be there when we need it, is a beautiful thing.

  • Jesica N Johnson12 months ago

    wow. Amazing!

  • Johnson Isabella12 months ago

    wow great work well done

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    Top stories sure do bring your friends out of the woodworks. Congratulations my Vocal friend. Writing from the heart will win the day every time. 🍹🍸☕. Sorry I cannot vote a second time.

  • Gal Mux12 months ago

    Awwww beautiful and moving...❤️

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    I'm also going to echo Oneg's comment regading the shift in style. It fits perfectly. I enjoyed this very much!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    This was highly relatable and painfully, beautifully real. Congratulations on your top story. Excellent work

  • Congratulations on you excellent Top Story

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Grz, this was so impactful. Although this experience has not been mine specifically, I have witnessed it in someone very very close to me, and it is a war with so many heart wrenching battles. I thank you for sharing this very raw piece! Also, thank you for the reminder to be like Gracie! Sending love!

  • Test12 months ago

    Moving and heartful, well done!💙Anneliese

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    really nice job on this one! I agree with Oneg, I liked the way this shifted!

  • Nice one😉❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.