Poets logo

Dear Dad

A poem for father's and grandfather's.

By SouloCircusPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
unsplash.com/@omeganova Deniz Altindas

Dear Dad,

If I took time

To count

the sleepless nights

I’d have to relive

Your entire life

If I took time

To understand

Each of your heart’s decisions

It would only prove your soul

Won’t buckle

Under immense tension

If I took time

To feel the stress

Of thousands of hours worked

I’d know the motivation

A true father carries

For his children’s

success in this world.

But Father is a title

You carry no longer

Like a family heirloom

Passed to your

Sons and daughters,

The burden of creating

A life worth living

A comfortable place

Allowing growth for our children

Is an obligation

We must take on;

A solitary adventure

Built for the strong.

Let me live the hours,

Let me stress for their lives

Let me figure out

How we’re going to survive

Let me feel the pressure

That forces me to evolve

And show my children

Failure only means

You need to work hard.

For the moments you cared

That I can’t remember

Building blocks of life

Placed with loving intention

For the days you knew

Failure loomed near

But you smiled and loved

And left us unaware,

For the nights and days

You were barely awake

But still acted silly

As we pushed you away

I ask you take

Your turn to rest

Your fathering skills

Have long since been tested

Please take your seat

On the pillars you’ve built

You’ve climbed too high

To succumb to guilt

A love-spoiled child

Given care without end

Could never understand

A life without Dad

But a daydreaming daughter

Who never questioned

How can my parents

Provide things better?

Easily depicts

A great man

And a true

Grand Father.

Dedicated to my father.

Happy Father's Day and Happy Birthday 2021

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

SouloCircus

With a degree in education, a decade of teaching experience, and a whole lot of "Mommy experiences", I try to make sense of the world around us.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.