Poets logo

Dear Cadell

In Loving Memory

By SyncerePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1

I can't breathe.

I wonder if the same could be said

Or if that was the last thought

That ran through your head

As your body collapsed, the ground painted red

Your blood crying out from the singe of hot lead

That was pumped into your corporeal form

I wish I could say that this isn't the norm

For our men of dark skin, their only real sin

Walking around proud & sporting melanin

But I can't blame an atmospheric ignorance

Malice or stereotypes ringing true, perchance

A biased ear, or blatant fear, of your power and grace

For it wasn't a stranger who came to you face to face

He was a young man from around the way

Someone you encountered from day to day

He couldn’t have known the life he would take

The impact that his poor decision would make

It was the last phone call that I would expect

To receive but believe me- one I'll never forget

There are times I can push aside the pain

Forget for a moment, see the sun through the rain

I miss you so much. I'm hurt that you're gone.

For a while I thought that I couldn't go on.

Still you wouldn't have let me give up on life

You wouldn't have supported my lowest nights

You'd be ashamed to know how I let my sorrow

Hollow me out and darken my soul

It took a while to remember what you would do

If given a chance, you would've advanced

We both know it's true

So now I awaken every day, pray to God

To help me get through each day

I work hard, I love hard, I try so hard

To be someone you would still love

Though we're so far apart

I will strive to make you proud of the little girl

Who grew up, persevered, and helped

Change the world

I'd like to be able to look back one day

Smile to myself and honestly say

"Cadell will be proud when he sees you again."

And I'll smile through the tears and embrace

My friend.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Syncere

Syncere (noun) An author/poet & barely tolerable human being. Masterful trickster of family & friends, as they actually support her. In another life, could've been a failed comedienne. In the grand scheme of the multiverse, she already is.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen Kramer Avitabileabout a year ago

    Wow really powerful and emotional... and so well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.