Poets logo

Dear "brother"

You broke us.

By Lauren DeePublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Dear "brother"
Photo by CHUTTERSNAP on Unsplash

Dear "brother",

I grew up hearing that brothers are supposed to be protectors.

I guess in this case they were wrong.

You broke me.

You broke my sister.

Physically and mentally.

You made me want to not exist.

The feeling of panic still haunts me.

You took what wasn't yours.

You broke my already broken heart.

The hurt and pain you caused us both is evident.

Yet you're okay, so that doesn't really matter to you, does it?

The uninvited hands that you laid,

took everything from us.

The pain the put in our hearts,

will never die.

Thinking that you don't deserve any of this,

because you were a kid.

We were also kids when you decided to abuse us.

You felt like you had the power to take what you want.

The years that passed and still you took.

Suppressed memories haunt me.

I feel the panic still.

I feel the pain in my heart still.

But you just get to live your happy life,

because "God" forgave you.

You sullied us.

You made us hate being alive.

You broke us so bad that all these years later,

The lingering pain is still present.

So I say to you,

You are not my brother.

You are the pain in my life that hurts me everyday still.

You are the reason that life had a bad start and just got worse.

I have nothing but hate for you in my heart.

I wish there was more to say,

But you're not worth the time.

Thank you for making me see the ugliness in life,

Your "sister"

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lauren Dee

I have had very disturbing dreams my whole life. I write fictional short stories, rants and poems all based off of my experiences in life. They can be dark, but it's the only way I can get them out of my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.