Poets logo

Dear Alcohol…

A poem about addiction

By Patrick MeowlerPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
2

I remember the first night we ever met, it was love at first sip

You were intoxicating

You took away every bad feeling I’ve ever had

You gave me the confidence I always craved

But just like every other relationship

You turned sour

That which starts sweet ends bitter

That which starts bitter ends sweet

It felt like I was living two lives

My life when I was with you

And the life I endured between our times together

Nothing else mattered compared to you

Careers, friends, hobbies, and family all became irrelevant

I didn’t care where I lived, who I was with, or what I did

I would have done anything for you

All you did was take

I wish I’d never met you

This relationship was toxic from the start

I have to move on

Goodbye

artsad poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Patrick Meowler

A resilient writer who is recovering from addiction and stumbling his way through depression and anxiety. His personal journey has shaped his writing, allowing him to intimately explore the complexities of the human condition

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.