Poets logo

Deadlines

An Acrostic Poem

By Cathy holmesPublished 11 months ago β€’ 1 min read
29
Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Deadlines are looming.

Impatience is booming.

Switchboard is buzzing.

Thoughts are fuzzing.

Ready for this day to end.

Active mind initiated.

Cantankerous management satiated.

Temporary reprieve begins.

Ideas unfurl.

Oh look, a squirrel.

Now, I must begin again.

humor
29

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    Haha! Doug the dog at the office! That was fun.

  • Veronica Coldiron11 months ago

    I can honestly say I have enjoyed everything of yours that I've read! This was great! Cathy, if you ever put out a book, I want to know about it. 😊

  • Darn squirrels. If they just weren't such cute little rodents.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Those squirrels are becoming a problem. lol Great job, Cathy!

  • Ranga Silva11 months ago

    Love your poem.

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    A wonderful entry into the Challenge. So relatable. β€˜Ideas unfurl. Oh look, a squirrel. Now, I must begin again.’ Loved this! Pauline 🌸

  • L.C. SchΓ€fer11 months ago

    I love CANTANKEROUS 😁

  • Oooo, cantankerous! I learned a new word about me today, lol! If anyone asks how I'm doing, I'm gonna say cantankerous 🀣 Loved your poem, McNitty!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    So so so so so So so so so so True. You really nailed it. This is something I struggle with...a LOT. Great entry Cathy!

  • We are easily distracted even when we have things to do , excellent acrostic

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    I’m glad I’m not alone in feeling this way. Some days I really don’t know how to focus. Then other days I get so lost in writing that I forget I have real world responsibilities. Great acrostic. πŸ‘πŸΌ

  • Aphotic11 months ago

    Lol funny and relatable. Love the inclusion of the classic β€œoh look, a squirrel.β€πŸ˜

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Cathy this is so funny and so expertly put together to make a fun and relatable acrostic that really fit the challenge! Excellent.

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    This is full of so many distractions and then…BOOM! The squirrel πŸ˜… Loved it, my friend! I felt the anxiety of so many deadlines in this for sure!

  • Carol Townend11 months ago

    Excellent and I hear echoes of distraction throughout your piece. 'Switchboard is buzzing with too many calls. 'Thoughts are fuzzing' with the noise and too much to do. This is brilliant and funny at the same time.

  • Julia Schulz11 months ago

    Fantastic!

  • Mohammed Darasi11 months ago

    "Oh look, a squirrel." 🀣🀣🀣 That's a great way to fit with the challenge and such a funny line

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Wonderful, wonderful!!! Yes! Deadlines are a distraction!!! Lovely rhyming too!!!πŸ’–πŸ’–πŸ’•

  • Rebecca Patton11 months ago

    The ending made me laugh. Good job!

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    Squirrels are everywhere! Great acrostic

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Hahah, good one Cathy! Those darn squirrels 🐿

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.