Poets logo

Dead And Gone

Poppy's Prompt #5

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 20 days ago Updated 5 days ago 1 min read
8
Dead And Gone
Photo by Jay Simmons on Unsplash

You left your paint stains

on my sill when you fled

Now it's all that remains

it erodes in my head

The wind blows it around

spattering the words that you said

I'm at its mercy

as the remnants descend

I wrote down my feelings

trying to release any hope

I signed and I sealed it

in an old envelope

I made my way to the store

to purchase some soap

Grabbed a stamp from the drawer

the punchline to this joke

Threw it into the mailbox

for the postman to gather

put an end to this paradox

and this time, it's forever

I power washed any sign

that you were ever around

reclaimed what was mine

scraped it onto the ground

*

slam poetryMental Healthlove poemshumorheartbreakFor Fun
8

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 16 days ago

    This is so evocative and powerfully written. My favourite lines: "Grabbed a stamp from the drawer the punchline to this joke"

  • Shirley Belk19 days ago

    love the purge...done it myself

  • Manisha Dhalani19 days ago

    "power washed any sign" - wow! Good poem!

  • Oooo, that power washed part was my favourite! Loved your poem!

  • Mark Graham20 days ago

    That is one way to make one feel better over issues of the heart.

  • Dana Crandell20 days ago

    Problem solved! lol Great poem, Kelli!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.