Poets logo

Days With My Lover

~ a poem ~

By Anji KaizenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Days With My Lover
Photo by Matteo Raw on Unsplash

Days with my lover are prospecting -

Hard and glorious labor looking for precious things.

My lover has no end, his depths call to me.

And I dig my fingers deep, seeking

With each morning, new paragons of

Riches untold, streams running cold,

Bubbling up to taste me.

My lover’s horizons

Sink back within him.

Distances I could never reach -

If I walked until I forgot my feet -

Still he would be

Endless expanses surrounding me.

Earth - in his eyes,

Ivory - his hands,

Mountains - his spine, and

Oceans reside in his lips, his neck -

An oak I can lean against,

Listening to his voice,

The rain, drumming down

Familiar, washing over the morning’s quiet sounds.

My lover’s arms are a nest:

“Fold your wings, lay here to rest”

Hidden from the rude gaze

Of creatures, of men, of anything strange,

And he is the breath before the voice, the song.

He is the premeditated silence before the music’s begun.

My lover is as patient as the ruby within

Clock faces ticking on,

Unhurried, and endless.

My lover makes me richer than all the kings of the world with just

One. Single. Kiss.

Days with my lover

Make both of us

Infinite.

~

If you enjoyed this poem, please leave a comment <3

You can follow me on all socials @anjikaizen

Or support my writing (and buy me a cup of tea!) by leaving a tip.

Many thanks and much love ~ Anji Kaizen

love poems
1

About the Creator

Anji Kaizen

Owner of Kaizen Music Studio. Eco Warrior. Activist. Vocal Coach. Entrepeneur. ATL based Songstress, Poet and Lover of all things awesome. Socials: @anjikaizen

My Studio: https://kaizenmusicstudio.com/

My Music: https://anjikaizen.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.