Poets logo

Daydreams, Fantasies

And Other Nightmarish Illusions

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
11
Daydreams, Fantasies
Photo by Pelly Benassi on Unsplash

Nightmares are the only dreams,

I've ever had come true

Romantic colors come in schemes

My shade is, black and blue

All dressed up with no place to go

A princess tale, left wanting

My mixed emotions, put on a show

Like a ghost, well trained in haunting

When faced with a dilemma

I flip a coin and take a shot

Commitment as permanent as henna

Like the last tattoo I got

When it comes to winning

I always give more than I get

An amusement park ride, spinning

Leaving my daydreams, soaking wet

Another day is ending

Keeping the chance of hope alive

I guess I’ll keep pretending

Until this nightmarish dream subsides

slam poetry
11

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Wonderful poem. That line about henna stood out to me as well as only remembering the nightmares. That's a lot of truth.

  • Commitment as permanent as henna. I loved that because it shows how shortlived the commitment was. Awesome poem!

  • May your nightmares soon end, my friend, & every close relationship prove true. Blessed Thanksgiving, Kelli.

  • G. A. Botero6 months ago

    So wonderful. I love how it flows and the imagery.

  • Salman siddique6 months ago

    it was good

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    This is heartbreakng, but so well written. Your poetry always astounds me, Kelli!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.