Poets logo

Day by Day

Another day is a step forward

By Stephen Chan WahPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

I remember a time when days felt indistinguishable from one another

A blur of night and day

That seemed infinite in it's potential for consistency

Days might as well had been weeks or months

Most times, I would wake up way after the sun has said good morning

But these days, I find myself saying farewell to the stars at night

And when dawn breaks, I open my eyes and greet the sun as it travels skyward

I feel motivated to make the small changes

That day by day show their value

I can feel the progression of my character with every sacrifice of self I make

The more of myself that I relinquish, the more my soul seems to flourish

I used to fiend for the answers to how to better myself

I was desperate for knowledge and truth

And in the pursuit of it

I failed to realize the very paradoxical nature of that pursuit

The more truth I attempted to discover only steered my further away from it

My desires for knowledge stunted my ability to learn

And now,

It feels like I am making some progress

Day by Day

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Stephen Chan Wah

Trinidadian Writer, currently residing in Toronto. The art of writing means many things to me. It is currently changing and I am always finding myself revisiting my passion for writing in new ways. Thanks for any time spent reading my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.