Poets logo

Day#7: Writing Challenge

"WHO" Object

By KJ AartilaPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
7
Day#7: Writing Challenge
Photo by visuals on Unsplash

CHALLENGE #1: OBJECT WRITING

Day 7/14

“WHO” Writing

5 minutes – “Balloon Man”

The balloon man, surrounded by the gleeful, fascinated group of kids, smiled back widely as he twisted the balloons into various shapes and handed them out to each pair of anxious hands waving at him and begging for certain creations and colors. His nimble fingers worked quickly with many years of practice and patience.

10 minutes – “Homeless Child”

The child stared at me with big, hungry eyes as he held the paper cup out. I dug in my pockets for loose change, added the coins I found to the cup and walked off toward work.

I did my job that morning but couldn’t the sight of the raggedy child out of my mind.

Over my lunch break, I returned to the busy corner, looking for the child. He was not there, but he was still in my mind as I went back to work. I wondered where he went? What was he going to do with the money? Where was his family? Did he have a family? I needed to know.

After work, I walked up and down the sidewalks and visited all the cafes along the way in my search.

90 seconds – “Trucker”

He was so tired! He pulled into the greasy-spoon to eat, shower and rest for the night. He still had many miles of road ahead of him

*********************************************************************

More on this challenge and my purpose for writing this nonsense can be found here:

Stream of ConsciousnessSong LyricsFor Fun
7

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

KJ Aartila is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.