Poets logo

Day #13: Writing Challenge

"WHERE" Writing

By KJ AartilaPublished about a month ago 1 min read
6
Day #13: Writing Challenge
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

CHALLENGE #1: OBJECT WRITING

Day 13/14

“WHERE” Writing

5 minutes – “Suburban Swimming Pool”

At the Community Pool. The blue water looks so refreshing on this steamy day as I stand on the edge, sucking up the courage to jump in. I don’t think I’ll jump. Not today.

The azure abyss screams at me. I am afraid anyway. Too much noise surrounds me in the busy colors of mid-summer.

10 minutes – “The Old Fishing Hole”

I rode in the small boat driven by my Grandpa. We were going on an adventure today. I loved adventures with Grandpa. I noticed the fishing poles and sandwiches stashed in the back. This would be a fun day!

The boat stopped and Grandpa dropped the anchor.

He said, “I tried to bring your Dad here several times when he was a kid, but he never did like to fish, so now I’m sharing this secret spot with you. Only.”

With a huge grin, I hugged him. I love to fish, Grandpa! And I won’t tell.”

He ruffled the top of my hair, chuckled and cast his line. So then did I. We enjoyed the silence then. Always a good day fishing, whether or not we caught fish.

I remembered back to that one special day as I sit here at the fishin’ hole with my son. Grandpa would have chuckled. I never tol

90 seconds – “Under an Umbrella”

Under the umbrella with you in a respite from the rain – your lips are close and I can smell your shampoo. I wonder how long this

*********************************************************************

More on this challenge and my purpose for writing this nonsense can be found here:

And here:

Stream of ConsciousnessSong LyricsFor Fun
6

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

KJ Aartila is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.