Poets logo

Darkness is my Candle

A reflection of my light-body.

By Ermaline OgbodoPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Darkness is my Candle
Photo by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

I chase the sun

Before it sets

Trying to feel its warmth,

Then it's gone

In the blink of an eye,

And I know the darkness is standing idly by.

It's tempting and delicious -

The farthest thing from fictitious,

And I constantly fall into the temptation

Of being in the comfort of my own darkness.

This darkness is what I retreat to

When life gets too hard

When clouds hide the sun

Making everything around me feel dark.

When will I actually feel

The warmth the sun gives?

When will I allow its rays to penetrate through my skin?

To break through my bones?

I chase it every day -

Yet I feel so alone.

When will this light

Touch an area of my body -

That even to me is unknown?

This light of my heart -

That has been broken open -

As embodied in this prose.

Isn’t every color of the rainbow -

Emitted in the sunshine?

When will I allow the sun to ignite -

This little light of mine?

One day - maybe.

I will be:

Grounded in hues of red,

Vibrant like a juicy orange,

And mellow in yellow.

Allowing the the light to shine,

Even on the deepest scars.

Revealing a shimmer of green,

With a drop of blue -

Watering the garden in my heart.

Connecting me to me -

And you to you.

Allowing a vision -

To become reality.

The vision of my life’s path from the start.

One of divine ecstasy.

Oh how beautiful I see - this rainbow can be.

With Indigo radiating on my crown.

Yet - I still keep my head down.

The more I open up,

The more vibrant the colors of my soul -

Are free to glimmer on their own accord.

Allowing me to see me,

In a way I never have seen me before.

Fear.

Is.

Paralyzing.

There is this light.

I keep chasing it -

And It keeps getting farther and farther away.

"My sun!”

I scream -

And it laughs at me.

As it rises and sets on its own time -

Knowing that I want it to be mine.

My darkness is my light

I will learn to let it shine.

Every facet of me,

Deserves to be seen.

The light of my soul -

Will always know -

that it has a home in the colorful rainbow.

The tears I’ve shed,

Have created the clouds,

That release the vision -

that pain has allowed.

My darkness is my candle -

I now accept that.

I can see clearly now -

There would be no rainbow without the clouds.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ermaline OgbodoWritten by Ermaline Ogbodo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.