Poets logo

Daniella Hasel

Hey There Delilah

By something wildePublished 6 years ago 1 min read

Hey there Delilah, You be good and don't you miss me. Two more years and you'll be done with school. And I'll be making history like I do. You know it's all because of you. (Plain White Tees: "Hey There Delilah")

Daniella, you only have a few more years. And if one day somehow I make history, it'll be because of you. You are The Valley's greatest story, the best ever told. You, in and of yourself are so important and valuable to me.

There are so many people that I have to claim to be okay around. I have to smile and laugh and act like waking up wasn't the hardest thing I've ever done. But with you, my crazy child, I could come up to you with tears streaming down my face and it wouldn't matter. It wouldn't be weird or wrong and you wouldn't run away from me. Truthfully, I'd run away from you. I'd try to hide myself and force the biggest smile on my face. But you wouldn't buy it, not for one second. We've known each other since the fourth grade, granted I was the biggest mean girl on the planet, but still, moving on.

I like bothering you, I like that you think I'm weird and crazy and unpredictable. I like that, that is who I am and you're okay with it, because most people aren't. So thanks for being you, thanks for being there when I'm weak, thanks for keeping me strong. Thanks for laughing at me, I enjoy it. Thanks for being okay with the fact that I'm not always okay. Thanks for being beautiful and cool. Thanks for understanding the things about me that no one else on this Earth could understand. Thanks for...all of it, everything.

So, My Delilah, a few more years of college, don't miss me too much, stay strong, stay amazing, stay beautiful, stay crazy, stay fun, stay smart, stay original, stay who you are. Love you for the longest time.

performance poetry

About the Creator

something wilde

wilde is the child ♡

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    something  wildeWritten by something wilde

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.