Poets logo

Dancing on the Moon

when in your dreams, you drift far, far away

By Skylar WhitneyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Dancing on the Moon
Photo by Ahsan Avi on Unsplash

Drifting away, my mind to rest

Easing my thoughts beneath the eve of the beaver moon's best

Lo, when my eyes saw the light

On Earth, I was not

Miles away, it floated in space

I, on the other hand, had transported to another place

Yes, there I awoke,

A floating figure on the moon

Transformed into a space cadette

Within that night's deep slumber

Glancing down at the isolated world in my lonesome,

Spinning continuously in its tiresome orbit,

I could finally see just how small,

Just how lonely, our reality was

Nothing exists for millions of light years away

If a star exploded in another galaxy,

one thousand years ago,

we'd only just be seeing it today

Realizing this, and seeing as to where I currently was,

I took a plunge, a deep leap,

Into the black abyss surrounding my essence

Enveloped by the universe in a mutual embrace,

I remembered that gravity didn't exist in space

And so I leapt and glided and swam away

Far, far, from Earth

And when the world awoke the very next day,

No longer was I in my wooden frame and cotton sheets

Where I was, was a place you could only visit in your dreams

For last night, I decided that should I ever be given the chance

Should I wake up on the moon and see my world as one of ants,

Away I'd fly; I'd never return

I'd accept the universe's hand and live out the rest of my days

Dancing and singing my worries away

In the galaxy of the Milky Way

nature poetry

About the Creator

Skylar Whitney

Introvert at heart. Lover of journaling, free-verse poetry, and poutine.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Skylar WhitneyWritten by Skylar Whitney

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.