Poets logo

Damned Dog…

A Cry Wolf Broadcast

By Jesse G. Published 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Damned dog

That howls and moans

Drove her to madness

And captured her soul

Won’t fetch

won’t sit

won’t care

but for only food in his bowl

With no gratitude at all

Yet she embraces him

he complains as she holds

My plate is still empty

He pukes from being full

Damned dog…

Damned dog….

Stinking fucking mut

Doesn’t speak but screams and itches

I utter a noise even a whimper

She raises her finger

I’m silenced and she bitches

Damned dog

He has a bed and I don’t

I’m restless and broken

Yet for him she caresses and kisses

He commands her with barks

She complies and always…

she listens …

She spoils him just like my other kin

The entitlement and the arrogance

of a silver spoon rusted

I’m Taken for granted

I cry on my own shoulder

I don’t have a wolf heart

Only one that longs for it’s mother

Sons like dogs

who kill and get bones

Although I’m the first

I’ve always wandered alone

Exiled to the forest

picking scraps from the rummage

Returning as the wolf,

Now wiser and toughened

Yet that dog she just met

And not the wolf she saw…

straight through…

If it came down to death

I bet she would choose

That I’d take my last breath

Over that dog

Despite he is purposeless…

A whimper once more

Echoing out

to the shivering moon

Damned dog

You win!

You dumb fucking mut

You both make me sick

The burning pit in depths of my gut

And yet…

I love you still

And look how I’ve grown

My mane is thick

My growl is strong

My eyes filled with will

But my heart will just break

Just shatter

It will never be still

My empty heart aches…

As I howl for the moon

No mothers who love dogs

could face the wolves they refused.

Neglected

Rejected

Alone and confused

Mother.. Remember?

The cub youd given life too?

Forced in a kennel

Forgotten

Like yesterdays news

Sulking and silent

I’m beaten

Black and blue

And will it give way?

Will my light shine to you?

Or the son has now set

A wolf lost it muse…

Never once had it at all

Was never an option to choose

Always placed behind dogs

Always first before you

Damned dog….

Damned Heart….

Be still…

Please…

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jesse G.

I come here to write

When I Find that I am broken

Words while they rhyme

Are better left unspoken

I’ve held them within

And they rip me open

Spill out on the page

My rage my sadness

My truth in poems

Let’s read them together

Together broken

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.