Poets logo

Homeless

By Jesse Gage Sharpe

By Jesse G. Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Photography and Edit : Jesse G. Sharpe

Home

a place

you yearn for

you cling to

a safe sacred space

with friends and family

with laughter and tragedy

happiness, hopelessness, leisure and vanity

home

is a place

where everything is

A place where everyone goes

when the day draws to an end

And all the doors close

but I never could make it in

I never felt home

even though I have one

and am never alone

home

it isnt a place

its an idea

a feeling

a smile upon the face

I know this because

everytime that im down

and im surrounded by loved ones

in my quaint little house

a phrase it repeats in my mind

never escapes from my mouth

Reminds me of something

someone once said

And they too were searching

With a hope for home in their head

A friend close to me

he once said it best

He too had never known home

and he understood my distress

“ I always have tried to build my own home

Because ive always felt that its something ive never known

despite my belongings and this house that I own

I always still feel like I want to go home”

and this too is me

With the thought that repeats

when tears swell in my eyes

and run down my cheek

I want to go home

where the heart is

where theres warmth and theres light

no pain or darkness

home isnt a place

its a feeling

I think

its a feeling of happy

like a loving embrace

safe and sound

your mind is in peace

I want to be there

or something like that at least

so ill take out a loan

and sign my name to a lease

and ten years from now

home is where ill be

a wife and a child

a yard and a dog

a car from a magazine

Parked in my garage

And I look out the window

A what did I see

People in their homes

Still searching for peace

For “ happy”

Why is my neighbor

who has all these things

still broken and hurting

in the home to which he retreats?

home isnt a place

it isnt a thing

its something you feel

its something you think

And with this I’ve found

That I am homeless

I know this because

I’m lost and I’m broken

so I hang my head low

on my couch,

in my house,

in my mind and alone

My eyes start to swell

And tears retreat down my cheek

To find their home on the floor

That’s lying there… beneath

Feeling alone

I say to myself

With a wimpering moan

“I just want to get out

I just want to go home.....”

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jesse G.

I come here to write

When I Find that I am broken

Words while they rhyme

Are better left unspoken

I’ve held them within

And they rip me open

Spill out on the page

My rage my sadness

My truth in poems

Let’s read them together

Together broken

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.