Poets logo

Damages

By: Carlton A.Armistad

By Andrew LittlePublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
2
'Artwork courtesy of the WhiteChapel Band's FB Page 29th Oct, 2022'

Verse 1.

Something in My head made a very poor calculation

The day you appeared,I stopped being scared, as You were my Protection

Suffering I knew, Rejection, yeah that too

With you I thought life could get no better.

Verse 2.

Laughter would fill every room we entered

Positive energy flowed from Us as it seemed we were centered

Making each day with You a brand new adventure

Little things that didn't quite feel right

Were dismissed as myths, not noted as the red flags they were.

Verse 3.

Trashed, everywhere glass, me battered and sprawled out on my ass

Blood and pain, are today's gain from hoping and praying we can go back

To when every moment of being in your presence was my life's very essence

Water fills my flared nostrils as I feel My life slowly leaving my body

Drowning my religious crowning for loving One so terribly Wrong

Holding me close to you now as I gasp for air, crying and wiping my face like you actually care

Excuses like huge rain drops in a torrential storm, fly everywhere;

'Look what You made Me do' you say

I never asked you to become this way, sadistic, psychotic, scheming, cheating..

Verse 4.

Shaking, trembling remembering how I ran like Tina did from Ike

Confused and Used, I laid on my Mom's Sofa, know We are officially Over

Free with just the bloody torn clothes on my back, knowing, and confirming I am never coming back

Destroyed, as the last few days with you was torture and beatings, my soul slowly bleeding out.

I've truly changed and I will do better.....You.... changed; i'll believe that...never

New Home, safe space, re-building my life at a very steady pace

Judge rules in favour of awarding Me what I am due, these small victories savoured

First smile why crying, and pulling Mom close, as I know there will be many challenges

For what it's worth I am enjoying my re-birth, and planning to go enjoy my

Damages.

[End]

surreal poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Andrew Little

Carlton A. Armistad is the pseudonym for Andrew R. Little. I prefer writing under this as it allows me to look at any body of work I complete separate to my personal day-to-existence, and safeguards my relationships and family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    This was awesomeeee! I loved verse 3 the most!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.