Poets logo

Damaged insides

Poem

By Shanece McCormickPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

Sometimes I’m afraid of everything around me

Another empty night fulfilled with empty bottles

How can you expect me to be ok?

I don’t understand your pain but I just want you to see.

I want you to see there’s more to you then you believe

You might feel as if pills and bottles Is all that helps

I know you hurt but what about me? What about your family?

Infact what does you killing yourself achieve?

It’s hard to give you hope when I’m losing myself

That doesn’t mean I won’t try, even I know I’m not perfect

Lately I feel trapped in my thoughts, my thoughts of you

I know you deal with the anxiety yourself.

I know we are both used to everyone walking out that door

But I promise you that door will always stay closed

When I’m with you I will never try to escape or use that exit

You won’t have to worry about anyone else leaving anymore.

I might not make a difference changing your mind but imma risk it

Quiet when you think about ending it, I don’t wanna hear it

Nothing in this world gives any of us a reason

So let us dwell on eachother as a reason for us to never quit.

I was suffocating, I was drowning, I needed some me time, some free time

But Along you came, you were damaged and drowned in self hate

I get it we were both lost but I found myself drowning with you and surviving like a sign

Just take a moment and look at it all can’t you see something finally feels different ever since the age nine.

People and even you ask me why do I stay, why don’t I leave?

Yeah A lot of people know me but they don’t know the real me

I would never switch up on you, on us just to be liked by everyone else

I would never throw words and promises around just to leave you when Its In us that I actually believe.

Always hard to open up right Cos when you finally do they end up betraying you and leaving you like you’re nothing right

It’s hard to say and accept to know I know that feeling too but that is what makes me certain I won’t just do that to you and go

And trust me when I say I don’t have a right when it comes to judging, you will never catch me dropping you.

-Shanece

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.