Poets logo

D.T.A

A Poem.

By Steven BaldryPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Like

Another chapter of my life over.

I wonder will I ever turn the page...

Without tears smearing...

The story left behind.

As a child believing in fairytale.

I was fool to believe.

In the masquerade you portrayed

Help me to rewind.

Before the empty promises...

Before I heard your screams.

Before you broke down my barriers...

Before I told you of my dreams.

For I was fine in my own world.

Before you decided to set up home.

Surrounding me with false security....

Only to leave me alone.

I won't say that I never felt like this before.

For it would be a lie.

All I will say is I never expected you...

To be the picture haunting my eyes.

All that was said and felt so meaningless.

How can I try to pretend?

That I'm not fucked up yet again...

Just when I felt it had come to an end.

I will move on there is no doubt.

But my heart even colder.

It seems its turning to ice...

As I grow older and older.

There is no relief....

From these words I say.

Only affirmed belief...

D.T.A.

Don't. Trust. Anybody.

Build the highest, strongest wall around your heart.

Because it seems everyone is out to hurt...

And rip that fragile thing apart.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Steven Baldry

I have been writing Poetry since I was a teenager. Now in my late thirties I enjoy it more than ever. I find it a wonderful release and it helps me to free my mind and understand myself and my emotions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.