Poets logo

Edger, Dunne or is it Lee?

A Poem.

By Steven BaldryPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Like

So Edger, Dunne or is it Lee?

Seems your quite the man of mystery.

So many judge the book by it’s cover

So never learn for they don’t look under.

Of a soul, a spirit as deep as the Abyss.

I found so much more naively expecting something less.

Who would of thought everybody’s favourite joker...

Would of turned out to be an Angel on my shoulder.

A voice of knowledge, A voice of reason.

A friend true to his word. A leader of men to believe in.

So many memories I have to keep.

Of our younger days when we never used to sleep.

Time after time trying to pass your driving test.

I’ll never forget that night you finally passed.

We took that old Renault out for a spin.

Pitch black you forgot the lights, all night we were laughing.

Never needed a stereo, it didn’t matter to you, Gaetano or me...

For we’d drive around watching the girls singing ‘stand by me’.

When I was lost in a world of chemical despair.

You were the one to slap my face, to try & make me care.

I recall our talks how you tried to make me wise.

Well brother I listened I grew up & found a wife.

I remember you came to our rescue.

When some idiot crashed into our car.

Amid ambulance & fire crew you were the star.

As time has passed so very much passes by...

But brothers remain strong that is why...

I paid my respect, my daughters middle name in your honour.

When our bodies of today are blown away in time...

Our legacy will go on in her now.

So Edger, Dunne or is it Lee?

I will call you brother for you are to me.

Thank you for the history we have written.

The legend is ours to be told.

Always remember that I am here forever...

No matter how the future unfolds.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Steven Baldry

I have been writing Poetry since I was a teenager. Now in my late thirties I enjoy it more than ever. I find it a wonderful release and it helps me to free my mind and understand myself and my emotions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.