Poets logo

Cuts Like a Knife

Blade specially sharpened

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 months ago 1 min read
6
Image courtesy of Pixabay

This poem has been written as part of Sahil Patel's Lifeline's (Medium) poetry prompts.

Today's prompt is: Tell us about words that hurt you bad, In a poem, share the sting they had, The mean things said that made you sad, Write them out, it might not be too hard, Let your feelings flow, let down your guard, Describe the hurt, let your pain be starred, Through your words, find a way to discard, And heal the wounds, let your heart restart.

Cuts Like a Knife

Blade specially sharpened

Ouch! That packed a punch to my solar plexus,

Emptied the breath from my lungs with an exploded oomph,

And I felt the sharpened blade sink deeply into my heart,

As a sob escaped my lips,

Shattered — irreversibly broken and ripped raw.

**

I gaze at you in shock,

Unsure, uncertain, confused,

Did I really hear those words you uttered?

**

Like tiny daggers, each word pierced my armour,

Sharp, destructive, crippling,

Rivers of blood begin to bleed, slowly at first,

And then in a torrent and my emotions wreak havoc.

**

Your words are the blades that pierce,

They cut like a knife,

Leaving wounds and scars that will forever bleed,

Seeping torment, leaking emotions,

Pain in an intensity that ensure your words live on forever,

They’ve taken on a life of their own.

**

There are nights that guard me from sleep,

Your words rattle around in my heart warding me from peace,

Each bladed edge digging in deeper,

Burying themselves into my psyche,

To become the very essence within my veins.

**

Callous, thoughtless words that cut like a specially sharpened blade,

The damage is done,

The words can never be retracted,

And for this simple concoction of sentences,

Your uttered ‘sorry’ will never grant relief.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    So intense, poignant and emotional! Well done my friend!

  • Words so hurtful you refrain even from repeating them. Blessings, Colleen.

  • EXCELLENT!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.