Poets logo

Crumbled & Thin

Words of Loneliness

By Vivian ClarkePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

THIN

I feel so fragile

My skin is petal thin

It shields me from the sun

Yet lets the shadows in

My quietness protects me

It keeps me from them

If I should ever speak

My words their ears would hem

I enclose myself away

Hope for notice of my solitude

That eats me day to day

Instead I look the wallflower

No one will ever care--

If I should fall from this sad tower

And lie dead upon the stair.

CRUMBLE

They speak to me softly

Afraid I’ll crumble away

But then they ignore me

The

rest

of

the

Day.

2011

Image Courtesy of: Photo 90742974 / Crumbled Paper © Alena A | Dreamstime.com

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Vivian Clarke

Third-culture-kid-now-adult with a melancholic disposition trying to make sense of life, like anyone else.

I live for my daughter, cats, and coffee.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.