Poets logo

Metamorphosis, a Reincarnation

The Beauty of Transformation

By Vivian ClarkePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

METAMORPHOSIS

I am everything I used to be, and yet, I am none of it.

I am everything I was and all I am now at once.

Many different mes; evolved and metamorphosed into one.

A painful, ugly, and yet beautiful process.

I am still struggling; I am still growing.

And it’s dark and ugly sometimes, but at the same time--isn’t all growth ugly until it blooms?

I am hoping to bloom.

May I bloom some day soon.

I am ugly now, but in this painful transformation--

I hope I will become something, someone beautiful.

May we all become something strange--something beautiful.

REINCARNATION

I never lied.

Each incarnation of me at the time

Is exactly who I imagined myself to be.

I never knew that life had other plans,

And my soul would churn and gyre

Creating new mes and new sight--

Regardless of inciting new ire.

I regret nothing.

If I have been me--in many stages,

I am now becoming a soul

That never ages.

2020

Image Courtesy of: Photo 3934013 / Butterfly Metamorphosis © Cathy Keifer | Dreamstime.com

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Vivian Clarke

Third-culture-kid-now-adult with a melancholic disposition trying to make sense of life, like anyone else.

I live for my daughter, cats, and coffee.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.