Poets logo

Crossing Lines

by Julie Lacksonen

By Julie LacksonenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Crossing Lines
Photo by Bowen Chin on Unsplash

There are lines upon our roads

And lineups for a game.

Phone lines are a useful tool

On which to call a flame.

*

I can choose which lines to cross,

And when to chill - I'm my own boss.

*

Lines for coloring within

Lines for fields and courts

Lines upon an empty page

For tales of every sort.

*

I can choose which lines to cross,

And when to chill - I'm my own boss.

*

Fishing lines, a power line,

Battle lines, a line of song

Invisible lines around our globe

To navigate along.

*

I can choose which lines to cross,

And when to chill - I'm my own boss.

*

A line of people in a queue,

A line drawn in the dirt.

Lines of hatred and exclusion,

Causing emotional hurt.

*

I choose not to cross those lines,

Because I'm me - I choose to shine.

By T A T I A N A on Unsplash

inspirational

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Julie LacksonenWritten by Julie Lacksonen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.