Poets logo

Creator

Powerful Women

By Julie UnruhPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Creator
Photo by Štěpán Vraný on Unsplash

I am the co-founder if a small company

it is not that big yet

when we go to a business meeting

silently I am introduced than either forgotten or am being looked at to get coffee for everyone

They say jokes that would be funnier if I didn’t understand them

They do not talk to me or at me

I sit silent at the end of the table

I wonder many things, would they pay attention to me

if I lost weight?

wore more revealing clothings?

screamed for no reason at all?

As I sit listening to their routine conversation I studying them

I wonder if they have ever harmed any women in their life?

How do they treat their daughters?

When my company sponsors a musical benefit

I am ignored

Women in their culture do not get recognized if they hold a position equal or higher than a man

I gaze at their musicians while they make their instruments weep

They catch my gaze and look away quickly

They do not know my name I am called, “Hey You.”

I am the only woman in a room full of men

My business partner always wants my opinion so I feel

included in the male dominated world

I offer to help them, they just smile at me and pat my hand

When the day comes they bring in a guy who doesn’t know anything about what they are doing, but he is a male

This is the reason I am angry all the time

This is the reason I fight

This is the reason I am by myself

I don’t rely on anyone

I recognize their actions

They are my dads

Who groomed me to always need a man

I do not tell him how many times I have been raped for knowing he would blame me and be happy his wish came true

I do not trust men.

I do not look forward to getting married.

I do not look forward to being pregnant

Or having a kid by them.

As we drive back to the benefit

I reply, “I said I would take the tickets yesterday. But, all of a sudden he called his friend at the last moment.”

He says, “Who cares?”

I want to scream, “I do.”

But I remember “Choose your battles.”

I choose this one and every battle that women are held down and oppressed in.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Julie Unruh

Julie Unruh grew up in Montezuma, Kansas. She is a human and animal rights activist living in Lawrence, Kansas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.