Poets logo

Creating Characters

A poem about finding your colors.

By L A D Y M O U T HPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
After I stopped hiding and accepted all my colors.

Creating Characters

I always wanted to feel at home. A place where I could fall into. where my dreams, desires, and fears could live without judgment. My world. my space. my heart. I would swim and become color.

I was taught to live in grey.

It wasn’t a very bright world for a girl who dreamt in color. I dreamed of yellows and blues. The sun and the sky.

They called to me.

I could hear them whispering in the wind.

The wind visited often. It didn’t always have beautiful things to say. It often very often came with rain and thunder … and fear.

I knew fear. I knew confusion

I was raised to believe one thing. A man and a woman.

colors could not exist in my world.

But I had a secret … I loved colors.

love poems
3

About the Creator

L A D Y M O U T H

She/Her

"Dream until it's your reality"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.