Poets logo

Cream Whipped Smooth

Driving Companions

By Judey Kalchik Published 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
17
photo by author

Frosty whip-cream trees

Silent unseen sentinels

Drivers rushing by

photo by author

A benefit of early-morning commuting is enjoying the smooth, unbroken, and just-fallen snow.

There's just enough time at a traffic light to think through a haiku.

~

Comments welcomed.

nature poetry
17

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    I need to clean my mind up and lift it out the gutter. I clicked on this thinking it was going to be some cute bit of filth. But, no, just Judey writing a beautiful haiku! Love the image and all that snow, goes perfectly with your wonderful words! Well done!

  • Kenny Penn6 months ago

    I’m about as jealous as one can be in seeing these pictures, and I loved the haiku, never thought of snow that way, what a great metaphor!

  • It's just so satisfying to see that snow! Loved your Haiku!

  • Virgin snow, frosted trees, a wonderland undisturbed. Blessings in a traffic stop.

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    I love those traffic light moments - little snippets of fullness.

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    So nostalgic, such beauty in deadly scenarios. Lovely words for a snow whipped cream day.

  • PK Colleran6 months ago

    "Silent unseen sentinels" 💕 Love this haiku.

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Nicely Done 👍🏾

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    I really like this, the soothing peace of the first two lines, then a jolt of impending disaster in the third. Really well done.

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    I kinda' miss being the first one out there in the morning. Great haiku and photos.

  • Mother Combs6 months ago

    Lovely, Ms. Judey, just lovely and perfect

  • Melissa Ingoldsby6 months ago

    Ohhh this is lovely

  • Rene Peters6 months ago

    Beautiful! The poem and the pictures!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.