Poets logo

Cosmic Catastrophe

Of course it's you.

By Joshua StephansPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Cosmic Catastrophe
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

How easy it is.

Like falling asleep.

Heavy eyelids curl seductive fingers,

Open door to cozy home after the longest of days.

To surrender, just a smidge too soon,

When I promised I wouldn’t this time.

What am I doing?

The most agreeable of accidents,

This beautiful blunder,

Cosmic catastrophe.

Oh, to forget who I am,

When I watch you walk.

That little way you tip your head,

Freckles dance on button nose,

I, shatter.

My dear,

You pull me through time like a chariot.

Lashed to anchor sinking ever deeper,

Caught in your gravity over and over again.

The dream I can’t possibly shake.

They lied, you see.

You’re not new. Not shiny.

Not wrapped in pristine plastic untouched by hands of men.

No, my love.

Though we haven’t yet shared a word,

Though I haven’t yet mustered my courage,

Though I don’t yet know your name,

I know you.

And I have for a thousand lifetimes.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.