Poets logo

Corrupted

Entangled in the Pain

By Ashleigh HollowayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Corrupted
Photo by Ian on Unsplash

I had a horrible dream last night

Pictures of pain dancing in my head.

As I stop to look around all I see is you.

I don't want to be here

please don't make me stay

You've trapped me within these hollow walls

my world disappears

everything fades to gray

all I am left with is you

with all your misery and hate

corrupting and entangling me

why do haunt me so

you're locked inside my head

When all I want is to get away

I'm kept here by you

I have to get you out of my life

Release all this pain

you've left me with such little hope

and nothing to gain

You know I can't help myself

you destroy me from within

Please note: This is about very toxic and abusive relationships. Yes, I was in one a long time ago, when I wrote this. No, I am not any more. If you are in one, please know you do NOT deserve any of this, regardless of the lies you have been led to believe. As far away as it may feel right now, you deserve real love and joy. Please seek help and know that there is always help out there and a way out. It won't always be easy, but it will be worth it.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Ashleigh Holloway

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.