Poets logo

Corfu, My Love

My great love affair with the Ionian island

By Victoria CopePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
I can both smell and hear this

Hark; the shrill cry of the cicada, unseen in deafening song

Hidden amongst the olive trees; deformed and weathered they stand

In the sweltering midday sun my thoughts how they long

For the cool salt waters that make love to the sand.

The sweet smell of sweat on browning skin

that lingers long after the waves subside

as they did 30 years ago where as a babe, I learned to swim

On this very beach, swathed by this very tide.

Treading water; the irony! A metaphor for how I endure this life

But in this moment I do so to keep my head above the swell,

taking in this precious interval; letting go of pain and strife

And anything else upon which my thoughts dwell.

My heart lies in these waters and belongs to the isle

Corfu, my love, I shall return; always, your Ionian child.

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.