Poets logo

Core of Comfort

Aboriginal Eyes

By WriteAVBPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Core of Comfort
Photo by Dyaa Eldin on Unsplash

Behind brown eyes of colonization

Too fair and freckled to be true

My heart is tender to the beat

Now they ask me, for why they should believe

From the sweet corn and torment

Wakan tanka taught me what I always knew

Follow the pieces left over

For there will be the light to see

Deep in the braids of your hair is the footing

Brush it with love that holds you tight

Dance while the seasons cut and change

I found it right beside me

I’ve never been more alive

It was with me all this time

I needed to open my eyes

The writing on the wall

What I’ve always known to be true

Finding my roots inside me

While being completely you

If I’m honest I remember

I knew from very young

I told my bestie at the time

I was read to be this one

My little feet beneath me

I knew it from my core

People tried to convince me

I knew I would take no more

For a while they may have blinded me

But for now, I see

They were just trying to deprive me

Of all I was supposed to be

It’s so simple and pure

How could I get so lost

I’ve always known what was needed

But never realized the cost

It took this love to bargain

Is this what I was waiting for

Why did I wait so long

Betrayal by sight and more

It’s the love of all around me

I wish I would have known

Had I done things different

We will never know

Never far from the journey

I am so glad I am here

For I love myself completely

And those others I keep near

I’ll never be able to repay

For this life is too good

Ethos is other than this way

Peace in my heart

And the worriless ways

It’s no longer scary

Even drawn to these days

Strong arms hold me tight

This is now my home

For I no longer live in dread

This is what I want to hold

No matter what side you are on

Peace in love and war

If it is worth fighting for

You know deep in your heart

You know what to do

It won’t be easy

But it will be true

Don’t let me say it

Let it be you

Finally, here I must say

It feels different than I thought

All that I had lost

Forgotten long ago

Searching long and hard for the wings in the trees

Dreams, home, and heart preserved it

In the energy love and comfort in all I’m meant to be

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

WriteAVB

Gratitude, love, therapy, connection, story-telling, awareness, are just a few of the reasons why I write.

Happy to share with all of you!

Thanks

AVB

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.