Poets logo

Control

My struggle with bulimia

By Rene PetersPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
17
Control
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

TW: Eating disorder behaviors

* * *

It's a struggle that I have everyday

It was my only sense of control

Until recently

Now it seems like it controls me

I skip meals since it hurts to purge

My throat is sore from the control I had

My life revolves around this illness

It's scary to know this can kill me

All I wanted was control of something

But I managed to lose even that

Now it's just pain and suffering

I'm dizzy from not eating

But guilty when I do

* * *

If you or someone you know is struggling with any eating disorder, please seek help. They are deadly, no matter what one it is.

Mental Healthsad poetryCONTENT WARNING
17

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    Then there is the opposite, overeating. We just need to find balance and stick with it. Both are hard, so best of luck to anyone with any disorder. Prayers and blessings for peace with it all.

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    I saw my younger self in these lines. I haven't starved myself in years (evident from my picture) but still when I feel my life spinning out of my control, that is my first response. I eventually learned that the ultimate control is being able to overcome this demon. I hope you will find that strength too.

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    Well done! And congrats on Top Story!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 months ago

    Oh, that must be so hard; I hope it clears for you. Nice poem. ❣️

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Trishawn Blake2 months ago

    This was beautiful! Congrats on your Top Story <3 <3

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!! Seeking and getting help is important, your poem spotlights the issue. Sending hugs!!!😶‍🌫️😶‍🌫️😶‍🌫️

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Glad you have brought attention to this topic...more prevalent than is recognized.

  • It sucks when we lose our sense of control. I'm so sorry because I really don't know how to help you with this 🥺

  • Sending support for these deep words

  • Lindsay Sfara2 months ago

    Wow, there is a lot more depth to this poem than meets the eye, and it really shines a light on the dangers and thought process of someone going through this. Thank you so much for writing and sharing this, Rene. This is well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.