Poets logo

Positive Affirmations

💭

By Rene PetersPublished 2 months ago • 1 min read
7
Positive Affirmations
Photo by Katrina Wright on Unsplash

Fuck positive affirmations

They don't stop the heart palpitations

When my anxiety goes through the roof

I have no proof

That any of them are true

So instead I'm stuck feeling blue.

* * *

My psychiatrist gave me nearly impossible homework... "Use positive affirmations, even if you don't believe them." I'm stuck because of feeling like I'm lying to myself.

sad poetryMental HealthFree Verse
7

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Omgggg, I feel the same way as you! I too don't believe in these so called positive affirmations. I feel it's lying to and gaslighting myself. Like making myself even more delusional than I already am. If things are screwed up, then it's screwed up. I wanna be real to myself and think practically. Not sugarcoat things and give myself fake hope by lying! You were so on point with your poem! PREACH!!!

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Sounds like you are taking control of your feelings about affirmations....

  • I am sending you light and peace and love .

  • Sending hugs, I am trying to keep positive , and usually I succeed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.