Poets logo

Constructive discordance.

honesty is rarely melodic

By Katie woodsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Constructive discordance.
Photo by @felipepelaquim on Unsplash

Can we please start a band and

Can I be the lead singer

Tell me I’m great and

Congratulate my taste

And we’ll all sing together in,

Melodramatic harmony

Somedays we separate ourselves from eachother

I’ll tell you I believe in

Cause believin makes you hungry

It’s the soul of the debate and

The reason whole societies walk off the plank and, die

But I’m not sure I believe in

Anything at all

Our terms are currently undefined

On these grounds I will not fight

We feel lonely so we

Gather all our cronies and we

All sing together in

Melodramatic harmony

Sing with me, scream with me

Please shut me up

I know I talk

Too

Much

Believe in me and build me up

I will betray,

The things that I believe in

And I will say,

Something different today, than what I said the day before

If you cannot stand me,

You can show me the door

Or you can please allow for,

A difference in opinion and then we will all sing together in

The most exquisite

Melodramatic harmony

It is discordant, and textually undefined

It’s dangerous and it’s bold and it’s the

Chaos where the coward hides

Out on on the fringes of humanity in general

Please tell me that I make sense to you

All I hear is shouting voices

And are they distracting us from our choices?

The most beautiful thing,

I’ve ever heard was a scream

But it’s when we all scream together in,

Melodramatic harmony

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Katie woods

Katie is a slime mold hunter that likes to watch people and write stories. She's been autistic every since receiving a radioactive vaccine as a child.

That was a joke. She is joking.

That's how she got superpowers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.