Poets logo

Construction

An ode to the man I saw on my drive to class

By Lily WinterPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
Construction
Photo by Josh Olalde on Unsplash

Through my window, I can’t see your story.

Whatever life you have lived up to now-

When I peer through the thin glass that separates us-

Is hidden from me

I don’t know who has hurt you

I do not know who you have hurt

I haven’t the faintest idea who you are

Or even who you pretend to be

All I know

Is in this moment, I chose to smile at you

Stopped at a red light while you worked

And I cracked my stoic, stone face

Letting the slightest bit of love out into the world

And in response

Every muscle in your face lit up with sunshine

And you, Sir,

Made my entire day

Free Verse

About the Creator

Lily Winter

Hello! I am a twenty-year-old university student and avid writer. If you enjoy my work, a comment or tip would mean the world. To learn more about me, check out my instagram-

Personal: @lily_winter4722

Business: @lily_winter_writes

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Sweileh 88815 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content, keep posting more.

Lily WinterWritten by Lily Winter

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.