Poets logo

Connection

From Isolation

By Bex JordanPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
5
Blazingly Bright (Photo: @UmaSabirah)

I've been talking to a friend

About Connection,

The importance of

Community,

How hard I tried

Not to need

Anybody

For so long,

How impossible it had

Become.

This silly little life

Is all about

The Story,

Not just mine

But EVERYBODY'S.

We all have our experiences,

And the only way to learn

Is from

Each

Other.

***

I was so sure

I knew the answer:

If I didn't get attached

I wouldn't be hurt,

If I kept one foot out the door

I couldn't be trapped.

If I showed only

What they wanted to see

They'd never leave me.

It was a lie.

By staying isolated,

Hiding my face,

I couldn't live fully,

Instead of losing,

I was simply gaining

Nothing.

The world shrank

To a tiny pinprick,

My heart behind walls

(protected and small)

Numb to pain and joy,

Sorrow and happiness,

But there is no light

Without the darkness.

***

I'm opening up,

My heart, my mind,

And I am

Terrified.

All these ideas and feelings

I'd had in childhood and

Cast aside

Coming back full-force

And blazingly bright.

The fires are lit,

And I don't know where

My Story is headed

But, by God,

I'm so glad you're

A part of it.

love poemssad poetryinspirational
5

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Reader insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Petro Wolmarans10 months ago

    Words show action.. Loved it.

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    "Instead of losing I was simply gaining nothing" WOW. Powerful stuff. Beautiful poetry

  • If I didn't get attached I wouldn't be hurt, If I kept one foot out the door I couldn't be trapped. I'm still in this stage right here. Human connections are just too terrifying! Loved your poem!

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Uplifting and perfectly stated bitter-sweetly. I felt the isolation and difficulty in the previous ones, but they all form a beautiful arc. Great expression of humanity.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    aw Bex, this is sad, beautiful but full of hope! Glad you're in a better place now!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.